Monogatari Watch Order 2023: The Correct Order to Watch Every Monogatari Episode

If you’ve ever found yourself entangled in the web of the Monogatari series — fret not! We’re here to disentangle the maze with the most foolproof watch order for 2023. Consider this your ultimate guidebook through the labyrinthine world penned by Nisio Isin.

Why Monogatari Series Has Everyone Talking

The Monogatari franchise, inspired by Nisio Isin’s captivating light novel series, is all the rage these days. With a whopping 29 volumes already out and a 30th one cooking, it’s safe to say the saga has captured the hearts of many.

“It’s a unique and one-of-a-kind anime you definitely don’t want to miss!”

quips a die-hard fan.


Plot 101: Not Your Typical Supernatural Tale

Monogatari isn’t your average supernatural anime; it takes the genre to a whole new level. Our protagonist, Koyomi Araragi, finds himself enmeshed in a world of gods, monsters, and spirits — not by choice, but by an encounter with a sizzling vampire girl named Shinobu Oshino. As Koyomi navigates this tricky universe, he finds himself transformed from a mundane human to a reluctant hero with some extraordinary powers.

2023’s Ultimate Monogatari Watch Guide

The Monogatari Labyrinth: Watch Orders Decoded

If you thought the plot was mind-bending, wait until you try figuring out the best watch order! But as the author Nisio Isin suggests,

“You should watch it season-wise.”

We’ve dissected all the chatter to present the most straightforward way to dive into the Monogatari universe.

I am so so happy that we are getting a new Anime Project from GOAT Monogatari Series, even if it is a re-edit version of Kizumonogatari Trilogy, which are BTW the Most Perfect and Must Watch Anime Film Productions you can find in the the World.

— J. Dev (@Jai_Dev_TT) September 10, 2023

Author-Recommended Watch Order

First Season: Bakemonogatari (15 episodes)
Kizumonogatari (Movies)
Part 1 – Tekketsu
Part 2 – Nekketsu
Part 3 – Reiketsu

Nisemonogatari (11 episodes)
Nekomonogatari: Black (4 episodes)

Release Order for the Purists

TV Series: Bakemonogatari (2009)
Nisemonogatari (2012)

Chronological Order for the Rewatchers

Part 1: Tekketsu (2016)
Part 2: Nekketsu (2016)
Part 3: Reiketsu (2017)

Discover Anime’s Hidden Gem: Monogatari

Final Thoughts: Dive in or Rewatch, but Don’t Miss!

Whether you’re new to the world of Monogatari or a seasoned aficionado looking to dive back in, we hope this guide helps you navigate your journey. So pop that popcorn, grab that soda, and settle in for a marathon because the Monogatari universe awaits!